Ashdown Logo

House Government and Officers

Ashdown residents play a key role in dorm operations and management. The main people responsible for running the dorm are the Ashdown House Executive Committee (AHEC) and the many Ashdown officers. The procedures on voting and elections are described in the Ashdown House Constitution and the Ashdown Election Policy.

If you are an Ashdown Officer:

Ashdown House Executive Committee (AHEC)

AHEC consists of five residents and is elected annually in the Spring. The five positions are Chair, Vice-Chair, Officer Coordinator and Secretary. The AHEC Chair presides over the weekly AHEC meetings and acts as the primary liaison to the MIT administration and other student groups. The Treasurer keeps track of the available funds, writes proposals for outside funding sources, and coordinates reimbursements for purchases made by Ashdown officers. The Vice-Chair assists the Chair in their duties, acts in their place when they are absent and is also responsible for running all in-house room lotteries. The Officer Coordinator maintains a list of current Ashdown officers and assigns seniority points accordingly. Finally, the Secretary is primarily responsible for taking minutes at AHEC meetings.

AHEC meets every Thursday evening in the Crafts Lounge to discuss dorm-related issues. These meetings are open to the entire Ashdown community. All residents are encouraged to attend, whether they have something to contribute or simply want to listen. Residents are also free to bring up problems or concerns at AHEC meetings. If you have something to add to the agenda, please email ahec (at)

The current AHEC members are:

Siyu Sylvia Dai

Ricardo Santos-Baptista
External Affairs Coordinator

Neha Bokil
Internal Affairs Coordinator

Haley Schilling
Officer Coordinator

Liam Comidy

Ashdown Officers

Everything Ashdown does, from caring for fish to planning dance parties to keeping the pianos in tune, is powered by our officers — residents who have volunteered their time to help out the dorm. Even though the positions have varied responsibilities, all of them are important in keeping the building running smoothly.

For their hard work, officers are rewarded with up to 3 seniority points per term. This gives them a huge advantage in our in-house lottery.

A current listing of officer positions is given below. Please contact if any of these jobs sound appealing to you, or if you just want to help make Ashdown a better place. Additionally, feel free to suggest new officer positions that are more aligned with your interests.

Arts Officer

Benjamin Chang
The Arts Officer is responsible for encouraging participation in the arts at Ashdown House. They maintain a collection of artwork around Ashdown (both inside the House and in the courtyards) as well as provide arts-related opportunities for Ashdown residents.
ashdown-arts (at)

Brunch Committee

Jongwoo Lee

Chi Wang

Wei Wei

Andrew Lew

Juliana Julie Park

Fengyi Li

Ruoxuan Yang

Katherine Young

Ruihao Terence Zhu

Nathan Faialaga
The Brunch Committee organizes brunches on Sunday mornings at noon in Ashdown’s Hulsizer Room approximately once a month.
ashdown-brunch (at)

Brunch Committee Co-chairs

Henry K Tran

Peng Qian

ashdown-brunch-chair (at)

Cherry Pie Society Officer

Chengzhao Richard Zhang
The Cherry Pie Society Officer runs and coordinates Ashdown’s intellectual discussion group, the Cherry Pie Society.
ashdown-cherry (at)

Coffee Hour Committee

In Young Hur

Mina Dalirrooyfard

Elaine McVay

Joy Zeng

Yu Ren Zhou

Farnaz Jahanbakhsh

Matthew Sobiesk

Nihal Koduri

Vishrant Tripathi
The Coffee Hour Committee organizes Ashdown's weekly coffee hour every Thursday night at 9 pm in the Hulsizer Room. This long-standing tradition provides residents with a great setting to relax and socialize while enjoying snacks and coffee.
ashdown-coffee (at)

Coffee Hour Committee Co-chairs

Justin Michael Paloni

Margaret Lee

ashdown-coffee-chair (at)

Communications Officers

Yipfun Steven Yeung

Sayeri Lala
The Communications Officers record and disseminate information in Ashdown. At least one Comm Officer takes detailed notes at each AHEC meeting. The Comm Officers also create the IAP/Summer Alumni Newsletters and aid with the “Welcome Brochure” for new residents during August.
ashdown-comms (at)

Communities Committee Chair

Vishal Patil

ashdown-communities-chair (at)

Events Committee

Ki-Joo Sung

Sai Nithin Redd Kantareddy

Kimberly Dinh

Alan Sage

Aniket Patankar

Maxwell Nagarajan

Ziwei Li

Courtney Paige Stephen

Halston Lim

Jean Carlos Serrano

Madeleine Sutherland

Vasudevan Sahana

Sara A Sheffels
The Events Committee plans and runs large and small events at Ashdown, either for Ashdown residents or the entire MIT graduate community. They plan Orientation activities, general social events, non arts-related outings, culturally-themed events and Ashdown traditions that are open to the entire MIT Graduate Community.
ashdown-events (at)

Events Committee Co-chairs

Carlos Barajas

ashdown-events-chair (at)

Floor Officers

Theodore Grunberg

Haoquan Tony Zhang

Colin A Pavan

Preksha Naik

Vaikkunth Mugunthan
Floor Officers serve as a residential assistants. They are responsible for encouraging interaction among residents and organizing floor events, overseeing the floor common areas and the use of floor bulletin boards, and voicing floor concerns to AHEC.
ashdown-officers-floor (at)

Inventory Subcommittee

Supratim Das

Xingang Zhao

Dimitrios Fraggedakis

Weiyue Zhou
The Inventory Subcommittee maintains and tracks the status of resident facilities within Ashdown House and the Ashdown Courtyards, including the front desk/mailroom, lobby, laundry room, kitchen, AHEC storage closet, and gym equipment.
ashdown-inventory (at)

Operations Committee Chair

Cheng Feng Gary Lee

ashdown-ops-chair (at)

Outings & Athletics Officers

Shane Zhang
The Athletics Officer coordinates athletics-related events in Ashdown, and serves as a liaison for other athletics-related events on campus. Tasks include coordinating Ashdown intramural sports teams and organizing Ashdown outings (basketball/hockey games, snowball fights/skating, etc).
ashdown-athletics (at)

Photographer Officer

Corban Swain
The Photographer documents life at Ashdown House, takes pictures at major events, and records Ashdown history.
ashdown-photo (at)

Publicity Subcommittee

Quynh Ngo

Sajjad Mohammadiyangijeh

Frederick Daso

Amir Tohidi Kalorazi
The Publicity Committee is collects and publicizes information about Ashdown, MIT, and off-campus events. The Committee send a weekly email (The Ashdown 3AM) to residents with updates and upcoming events, and organizes publicity campaigns for Ashdown events (this includes creating posters, printing them, and putting them up around campus).
ashdown-publicity (at)

Technology Subcommittee

Gulsagar Singh Jassar

Henry R Kilgore

Asma Ghandeharioun

Shichao Yue
The Technology Committee is maintains and improves the Ashdown website and computing facilities. The Technology Committee assists with the hallway displays throughout the building as well as other AV systems in the common areas.
ashdown-tech (at)

© 2019 MIT. Please report feedback about this website to ashdown-webmaster (at)